ADVERTISEMENT

BASEBALL Would Nashville support a MLB club?

I was thinking the same metro, not exactly the same city.

One part of the minor league reorg was to bring more affiliates closer to the parent club. Having the AAA or single A club close (<2 hours) is seen as a positive. Maybe not the same city, but same general metro area.

Truth is, it’s a way to get people (money) that you normally wouldn’t. I’ve been to 3 Braves games in the time I have lived in the ATL. I have been to ~20 Striper games.

The effort, cost and time to drive over to Truist for my family of 4 just isn’t worth it to me versus the 10-15 minute drive to the cheaper Striper game. And if the Stripers weren’t here, I doubt I would have gone to more Braves games. I would find something else to do.

Who knows, at least 6 cities think they are getting a MLB. Will be interesting to see how it plays out.
Disclaimer : I am NOT a baseball expert.

But wouldn't the location of the farm team(s) for Nashville MLB teams depend on if it's a relocation or expansion?

On another note, like baseball or hate baseball, MLB to Nashville will probably make it harder for MT to pull corporate $$$ & casual fans.

But wouldn't the location of the farm team(s) for Nashville MLB teams depend on if it's a relocation or expansion?
I wouldn't think so, no. Because the Sounds are the AAA farm team for the Milwaukee Brewers. So that affiliation would have to end for an MLB Nashville franchise to want to place their respective farm team in our area.

And a relocating franchise would mean the existing affiliates would stay in place, e.g. Tampa Rays become Nashville Stars. The AAA Durham Bulls are the affiliate, and I don't see any reason that would change in the immediate. Unless somehow the two franchises come to some sort of agreement, where only rosters, management, ownership, etc. changes, and everything else stays the same.