ADVERTISEMENT

BASKETBALL Interesting Article on NIL Deals in Tennessee

I know it's probably not feasible nor would it be worth it for the likely small amount of $$$, but it would be sort of cool if this board could raise a few hundred bucks to offer a player to have their name & picture on the website for the season. I know I'd chip in something like $25 - $50 for a season to be able to do a deal to benefit a MT player with a few extra bucks in their pocket for the season. I know when I was a student, an extra few hundred bucks for a semester was huge. That would have been some high living.

Reactions: JohnDavidBlue
I was listening to one of the sports talk shows and a former coach said that the P5 schools can get more players with NIL. I believe he said there could be 105 players on a roster, but only 85 could be on scholarship. That leaves 20 spots for walk-ons, which now are being funded with NIL money.

I know it's probably not feasible nor would it be worth it for the likely small amount of $$$, but it would be sort of cool if this board could raise a few hundred bucks to offer a player to have their name & picture on the website for the season. I know I'd chip in something like $25 - $50 for a season to be able to do a deal to benefit a MT player with a few extra bucks in their pocket for the season. I know when I was a student, an extra few hundred bucks for a semester was huge. That would have been some high living.
This was my thought when NIL came out. I would definitely still chip in. Not sure board leadership is behind it though. It is a remains a great, innovative idea however.

This was my thought when NIL came out. I would definitely still chip in. Not sure board leadership is behind it though. It is a remains a great, innovative idea however.
I’m down, let’s throw some money at Kyle Lowe