ADVERTISEMENT

Dead-tree media

MTFNBY5

Hall of Famer
Jul 26, 2005
Before you jump my case understand that old habits are hard to break and I've been reading The Tennessean every morning since I was a MT student in the 60s (do they still have newspaper racks on campus?).

This morning we have seven (I just counted again to make sure) UT-K related articles in The Tennessean's sports page. SEVEN

They could just fax the Gannett Knoxville sports page to Nashville and print the damn thing. Crap

I'm mad, I can only imagine how fans of the school on West End feel.

It's interesting since UT sports are now very mediocre. The basketball/football ranking shows that. We're 30 spots ahead of them. :)

Reactions: MTLynn
The Memphis Commercial Appeal shutters it press and now getting the paper printed up the road in Jackson...

reaction to that step

Gannett Shuts Down Memphis Commercial Appeal Press, Continues to Cut Back in Tennessee

the link to blog article, an interesting read, excerpted in the above TN Star article:

Gannett Does Memphis: The Massacre at 495 Union

MTFNBY5, this excerpt pretty well echoes your complaint in the OP.

Just What You’ve Been Wanting: More Knoxville News

Then again, we wonder that because Gannett now controls major newspapers in our state’s major MSAs, except for Chattanooga, it labors under the misapprehension that we are dying to know more about what’s going on in Knoxville. And vice versa.

Until they had purchased Tennessee’s largest newspapers, we suspect Gannett wasn’t aware that Memphis is as close to New Orleans as it is to Knoxville, and almost as close to Dallas, Chicago, or Kansas City. Come to think of it, Knoxville is about as close to Canada as to Memphis.