ADVERTISEMENT

Rowdiest home atmosphere you have experienced for MT Hoops/Football?

Matt Dossett

All American
Staff
May 14, 2016
Two from the Murphy Center stick out to me...Both when i was in college at MT. The women's game where Tennessee came to town. The other was the Men's NIT game against Minnesota.

Struggling to pick a favorite for football. GT game early on fans brought the goods. 2013 Marshall sticks out as well. Some left because of the cold but it was a fantastic finish

Last edited:
The WKU pack-the-house-home-sell-out push for one of the Dr.'s at the university (his name escapes me) was pretty wild.

Home football.....jeez. I don't think that stadium has ever been "rowdy" - Despite the crowd sizes not reflecting it, I feel like when I was a student there it was for sure more rowdy. So 2003-2007. Some games that stick out include the 2006 game to Louisville, despite not being in our stadium, was insane for the first half of the game. I recall the Virginia crowd being pretty wild in 2007 (still in awe of us losing that game 10 years later)....and that's all that really comes to memory. As I said, not sure Floyd Stadium has ever been "rocking" and at this point I'm not sure if it ever will be. And I'm OK with that.

I think watching football live-in-person-in-stadium is one of the most overrated experiences out there unless you're in an 80,000 seat stadium full of packed, crazy fans. The only live environments I've ever been to that impressed me were against SEC teams. Florida, Georgia, Tennessee to be precise. Even places like NC State I found to be very, very underwhelming.