ADVERTISEMENT

FOOTBALL MAC cancels fall football, intends to play in spring

Cases are falling thanks to mask use. Good job everyone. I think we will play. We might not finish, but I think we will start.

Reactions: SpaceRaider
Interesting read. After doing some research, looks like we will know something this week. Most think we are doomed.

I am not a medical expert by any means, and don’t pretend to have all the answers. That said, these are some thoughts I have had as I think about this situation.

The speed at which these football news updates has moved just defies understanding given that the virus situation is basically the same as it has been for the past 4 months (at least in my rudimentary understanding). Within days of conferences finalizing their schedules, and basically 48 hours after Massaro and Stock were on a zoom press conference talking about scheduling Troy and so forth, now we’re apparently barreling toward a nationwide cancellation this weekend.

If that’s true, why not just say two months ago that barring some change in circumstance, it appears unlikely we will play in the fall but we will keep exploring ways we can alter the dynamic and continue to monitor relevant data? Instead they spent that time talking about how they were going to play in the fall with appropriate safeguards in place. Now we’re just suddenly pulling the plug?

If the standard is “no risk of Covid to players” then this is potentially a multi-year thing. How do you justify even continuing to operate a football or basketball program at a G5 school when there is no prospect of playing games anytime soon?

And at what point does the risk posed to players of not playing exceed the risk of playing? The athletic scholarship is a student-athlete’s ticket to a degree and an opportunity for a better future. But it would seem we’re getting dangerously close to just chucking that out the window.