ADVERTISEMENT

Just Another Example

BlueRaiderFan

Hall of Famer
Oct 4, 2003
Of the issues with the student loan industry.

Name: Kevin

State: --

I graduated in 1995 with a student loan debt of $50,000. I was in an income-based repayment plan that required a $0 per month repayment due to the size of my family and my family income as a Registered Nurse. I understood after 20 years of being in a repayment plan the balance of the loan would be forgiven with this plan. In my case the loan was sold to 4 different Student Loan companies and each time the account timeline restarted and the principal amount increased due to the amount owed plus the interest that had accrued meaning I couldn’t reach a 20 year mark and the amount owed grew exponentially.

I now have a student loan debt of $350,000 due to an accruing interest rate of 8% which will add $27,720 this year alone. It’s a hopeless situation digging a perpetual hole which I will never be able repay and it will grow until I die.

I did nothing wrong, I paid what I was Instructed to pay and I am now in a situation where with the rate this is growing and provided I live a normal life span I will have a personal student loan debt of over a MILLION dollars and that is just mine not the other millions of Americans facing the same or similar situation with Student Loan Debt.